A new summer, a new theme


What’s next? I’ve been thinking about that question a lot in the past few weeks. I began The Collegiate Angle as an assignment for my Newsgathering class this past spring, and it has turned out to be an incredible learning experience in many ways. My class is over, though. But I don’t view this as the end. I put in a lot of work and in the process I’ve found I truly enjoy blogging about my interests in journalism and design. So I view this summer a new beginning with a theme of its own.

For the past few months, I have focused on broadsheet design and how newspapers and college newspapers approach their front page layout. I found this worked out well since the Asbury Collegian is broadsheet and that was my particular interest. It still is of great interest to me, but I’m moving in a different area of research now.

The Asbury Collegian is going through a redesign this summer, and, while I won’t ruin the surprise for my college friends, my posts will be geared toward tips on how to do redesigns and my new interest in tabloid design. I may also add a few posts here and there about fascinating designers and newspapers.

I’d also like to give a shout-out to my professor who taught the Newsgathering class, Prof. Wheeler. If you haven’t already read his insightful article on SEO (search engine optimization) and how it is affecting witty headlines published in The Atlantic, I highly recommend it. You can check out his blog, The Deadline Diaries.

One thought on “A new summer, a new theme

Leave a Reply

