Keys, silence and Gothic buildings


Ever door here has a key to it, a different key. These are large doors, too. Not something you typically find in a hotel. But then, this isn’t your typical hotel. Large stone buildings in the Gothic style dot the grounds and tell of a once prosperous time, a time long gone. The Scarritt-Bennett Center in Nashville, Tenn. offers great rates for their rooms, though. 

The weirdest part is the silence. It’s so quiet here. After being on a college campus living with hundreds of other ladies in one dorm, this place feels empty… but peaceful.

And if you have no idea what I’m talking about and why I’m going on and on about some buildings in Tennessee, here’s what I’m up to: My friend Erika Graham and I are  sitting in the middle of the lobby of an ancient campus awaiting the morning when we will go to Tim Harrower’s workshop over at Vanderbilt University.

(This is what the middle of this little Gothic island in Nashville looks like.)

I wish I had a better camera with me. This place is beautiful. Tomorrow morning I’ll try and get some better pictures.

The location is great, though. We’re only a block away from the student center where the workshop will take place tomorrow and, as a result, I won’t have to worry about finding a parking spot tomorrow!

Well, I did bring some homework with me so I may (or may not) go do some reading in a few minutes. We’ll see how this all works out. Until tomorrow!

One thought on “Keys, silence and Gothic buildings

Leave a Reply

